Stanley Frank Class Award

The Stanley Frank Class Award is presented annually in honor of the late Stanley Frank, chair of the LNC founding committee, who gave his time, talents, and resources to make our state a better place to live and to work. Mr. Frank was a Greensboro businessman and a civic giant who was one of the earliest and strongest supporters of LNC. There are many organizations in the Greensboro community on which Stanley Frank left his mark. He was known as a compassionate, modest, and generous gentleman.

Mr. Frank was chairman and chief executive officer of Carolina By-Products. In addition to his corporate service, he chaired the Piedmont Triad Airport Authority, was a 36-year member of the Guilford College Board of Trustees, served as president of the United Community Services (now the United Way), chaired the Greensboro Chamber of Commerce, and served on the board of LNC until he passed on January 2, 2006. Stanley Frank was dedicated to providing opportunities to others in all that he did.

The recipient of this annual award is a member of the current class of LNC. He or she is selected by fellow class members as someone who exemplifies the spirit of Stanley Frank. The Stanley Frank Class Award is presented during each class’s graduation ceremony.

Past Stanley Frank Class Award Recipients:


Class I Wayland Whitley Class XIV Rip Farris
Class II John Kernodle, Jr. Class XV Goldie Byrd
Class III Doretha Stone Class XVI Tracy Sternberg
Class IV Donna Adams, Bobby Boyd, and Duane Kirkman Class XVII Marci Williams
Class V Michael Blackwell Class XVIII John Falkenbury
Class VI Becky Wallace Class XIX Maureen Little
Class VII Kathyrn Quigg Class XX Gale Adcock
Class VIII Brenda Oocumma Class XXI Jessica Graham
Class IX Delores Parker Class XXII Brenda Berg
Class X Wanda Montano Class XXIII Shawan Gabriel
Class XI The Honorable Rick Glazier Class XXIV Paige Sayles
Class XII The Honorable Joan Lamson Class XXV Kathy Rummage
Class XIII Tom McSwain Class XXVI Schumata Brown


Award Criteria – The LNC Stanley Frank Class Award is presented to a participant of the current LNC class whose demonstrated leadership has made a significant improvement to the quality of life, economic well-being, and/or sense of community in our state.  Questions to consider when selecting a nominee include any or all of the following examples:

  • What are the nominee’s most significant leadership roles in professional or civic activities?
  • What are the nominee’s leadership skills and characteristics?
  • In what ways has the nominee had an impact on the economy and quality of life in his/her community and/or the state?
  • How has the nominee impacted others?
  • Why is the nominee deserving of this award?

Submit a Nomination – Please use this link to submit a nomination.  Stanley Frank Class Award nominations for LNC Class XXIX are due April 8, 2022.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email